Best Horizontal Bread Makers use a conventional loaf-pan shape, but the wrong model can leave you with a cramped counter, sticky cleanup, or a narrow recipe range. A bread machine is a countertop appliance that mixes, kneads, rises, bakes, and keeps bread warm through programmed cycles. In my 2026 research, I compare West Bend, Cuisinart, and Zojirushi because their horizontal formats target different household needs.
The West Bend Hi-Rise is the best overall pick because its 3 lb capacity, 12 programs, gluten-free cycle, and conventional horizontal pan balance flexibility with everyday usability. The Zojirushi Virtuoso Plus 2 is the budget-led option, while the feature-dense KBS Pro is the premium-feature alternative when its current listing and warranty suit you. The winner card shows why West Bend leads, then the comparison chart lays out the field.
Comparison Chart of Best Horizontal Bread Makers
| Product | Details | Rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
Editor’s Choice ![]() ![]() | West Bend Hi-Rise Bread Maker Machine | ★★★★☆4.8/5 | |
Top Pick ![]() ![]() | Cuisinart Bread Maker Machine | ★★★★☆4.5/5 | |
Best Budget ![]() ![]() | Zojirushi Bb PDC20BA Virtuoso Plus 2 | ★★★★☆4.7/5 | |
★★★★☆4.4/5 | |||
KITCHENARM 29-in-1 SMART Bread Machine Gluten | ★★★★☆4.6/5 | ||
★★★★☆4.4/5 | |||
★★★★☆4.2/5 | |||
★★★★☆4.1/5 | |||
★★★★☆4.2/5 | |||
★★★★☆4.4/5 |
List of Top 10 Best Horizontal Bread Makers
Our research compares published capacity, program count, loaf format, pan material, scheduling, and cleaning considerations. The list favors models with clearly documented functions, while flagging products whose current listings omit dimensions, weight, power, or warranty terms.
Below are the list of products:
1. West Bend Hi-Rise Bread Maker Machine
Our research places the West Bend Hi-Rise first because it combines a 3 lb capacity with 12 programs and a conventional horizontal pan. It offers more capacity than most compact rivals without turning every small feature into a separate control.
Why I picked it
The West Bend offers the broadest useful capacity in the supplied inventory without requiring a niche program. A 3 lb limit, three loaf sizes, and dual kneading blades make it a practical choice for families that want one machine for daily bread, sandwich loaves, and gluten-free cycles.
Key specs
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 3 lb
- Programs: 12, including a gluten-free setting
- Loaf-size choices: 3
- Crust-color choices: Multiple, as stated in the product title
- Pan: Traditionally shaped horizontal pan with dual knead blades
Real-world experience
For a family that bakes several times each week, the 3 lb ceiling offers more flexibility than 2 lb models. The conventional pan should also appeal to buyers who prefer a familiar horizontal shape, although dimensions and steam-vent clearance must be checked before ordering.
- 3 lb capacity supports larger loaves than most listed models.
- 12 programs cover basic and gluten-free preparation.
- Dual knead blades suit buyers who want two blades inside a conventional pan.
- The supplied listing omits dimensions, weight, power, and warranty terms.
- A gluten-free preset does not make every recipe suitable for celiac dietary needs.
- ✔ You want up to 3 lb loaves.
- ✔ Gluten-free programming matters to your household.
- ✔ You prefer a traditional horizontal loaf pan.
- ✖ You require verified dimensions or a documented warranty.
- ✖ You need a dispensing or delay timer not listed here.
2. Cuisinart Bread Maker Machine
The Cuisinart combines a stainless steel exterior with 12 programs and a 2 lb maximum, making it a logical fit for couples and smaller families. Its specification sheet is concise, so buyers should confirm pan details and warranty coverage on the current listing.
Why I picked it
The Cuisinart is a strong fit when 2 lb loaves are sufficient and the exterior should coordinate with other stainless appliances. Twelve programs provide recipe variety, but buyers who regularly bake 3 lb loaves should choose the West Bend instead.
Key specs
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 2 lb
- Program count: 12
- Exterior material: Stainless steel
- Appliance format: Countertop bread maker
Real-world experience
This model makes the most sense for two people who want several crust and dough choices without filling a 3 lb pan. A stainless exterior can be wiped down after splashes, although the supplied inventory does not identify the baking pan coating.
- 12 programs provide meaningful recipe flexibility.
- The 2 lb limit suits regular sandwich loaves for a small household.
- Stainless steel gives the exterior a practical, coordinated finish.
- The 2 lb ceiling cannot match the West Bend’s 3 lb capacity.
- Pan material, dimensions, power, and warranty are absent from the supplied listing.
- ✔ You routinely bake 2 lb or smaller loaves.
- ✔ You want 12 programs in a compact format.
- ✔ Stainless steel styling suits your kitchen.
- ✖ You regularly need full-size 3 lb loaves.
- ✖ You require a specified pan coating or warranty.
3. Zojirushi Bb PDC20BA Virtuoso Plus 2
The Virtuoso Plus 2 is a budget-focused choice for buyers whose loaves top out at 2 lb. Its supplied specifications are limited, so the deciding factor is whether the current listing and manual provide enough detail for your recipes and kitchen.
Why I picked it
The Zojirushi is included as the value-oriented alternative for straightforward 2 lb baking. It makes sense only if you can confirm the current program list, dimensions, cleaning instructions, and warranty before ordering.
Key specs
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 2 lb
- Model: PDC20BA
- Finish: Black
- Format: Dedicated countertop bread maker
Real-world experience
This machine is most relevant to a couple or small household that wants a 2 lb loaf without spending for dispensing hardware. Because no pan coating, wattage, cycle count, or dimensions were supplied, it should not be chosen on assumed features.
- The 2 lb capacity covers common sandwich and dinner loaves.
- A focused model can be easier to learn than a feature-heavy machine.
- Zojirushi’s PDC20BA identification makes support documents searchable.
- No program count or gluten-free cycle is documented in the supplied inventory.
- Dimensions, power, pan material, and warranty require confirmation.
- ✔ Your household needs 2 lb loaves.
- ✔ You prefer a focused bread maker.
- ✔ You will verify the manual before buying.
- ✖ You need documented programs or a 3 lb pan.
- ✖ You cannot confirm dimensions and warranty.
4. Neretva 3.3LB &15-in-1 Bread Maker Dual
The Neretva stands out for its stated 3.3 lb capacity, dual heaters, and automatic nut dispenser. Those features target larger households and seeded bread, although a 15-in-1 program count does not by itself explain how useful each cycle is.
Why I picked it
The Neretva is the most capacity-focused model here, with a stated 3.3 lb limit. It earns consideration when the automatic nut dispenser and dual-heater design matter more than a longer list of manufacturer-documented presets.
Key specs
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 3.3 lb
- Program count: 15
- Heating arrangement: Dual heaters
- Dispensing: Automatic nut dispenser
- Form factor: Horizontal bread maker
Real-world experience
The dispenser is relevant when a recipe calls for ingredients added at a specific point in the cycle. Dual heaters may support more even heating, but no independent temperature data was supplied, so that remains a design claim rather than a measured conclusion.
- The 3.3 lb ceiling is the largest stated capacity in this list.
- The automatic nut dispenser reduces manual ingredient timing.
- Dual heaters offer a distinct heating arrangement.
- The 15-in-1 label does not identify what all 15 programs do .
- Dimensions, power, pan material, and warranty are not supplied.
- ✔ You bake loaves above 3 lb.
- ✔ You need timed nut addition.
- ✔ Counter space can fit a large appliance.
- ✖ You need clearly listed dimensions and warranty terms.
- ✖ Your recipes do not use a dispenser.
5. KITCHENARM 29-in-1 SMART Bread Machine Gluten
The KITCHENARM is built for cooks who want many preset paths across bread, dough, and gluten-free preparation. Its 29-in-1 label needs careful reading, because useful settings matter more than a high program total.
Why I picked it
The KITCHENARM fits experimental bakers who want a homemade cycle and several loaf sizes under one appliance. It is less compelling for someone who only needs a reliable basic loaf and prefers fewer controls.
Key specs
- Preset claim: 29-in-1
- Loaf sizes: 2 lb, 1.5 lb, and 1 lb
- Special cycle: Homemade
- Exterior material: Stainless steel
- Gluten-free setting: Listed in the product title
Real-world experience
The homemade cycle is useful when adapting a bread recipe that does not map neatly to a standard preset. Buyers with celiac disease should still verify ingredient compatibility and cross contact controls, since a machine setting alone does not certify a loaf as gluten free.
- The homemade cycle supports custom recipe development.
- Three stated loaf sizes help control batch size.
- Stainless steel suits kitchens that prioritize easy exterior wiping.
- The 29-in-1 claim may feel complex for a first-time buyer.
- Power, dimensions, pan material, and warranty are not supplied.
- ✔ You enjoy testing recipes.
- ✔ You need 1, 1.5, or 2 lb sizes.
- ✔ Gluten-free programming is useful.
- ✖ You want the simplest possible controls.
- ✖ You need a loaf above 2 lb.
6. 2LB Bread Maker 17 1 Automatic
This generic-named 2 lb model offers a 17-in-1 control set and a stainless steel exterior. It may suit value shoppers, but the limited brand and model information makes independent comparison more difficult.
Why I picked it
Its stated 2 lb capacity and 17 program options give it more range than a basic bread maker. The tradeoff is transparency: the supplied title does not identify a manufacturer or explain individual programs.
Key specs
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 2 lb
- Program claim: 17-in-1
- Operation: Automatic bread making
- Exterior material: Stainless steel
- Manufacturer name: Not supplied in the inventory
Real-world experience
This model is practical only after you confirm the manual, dimensions, pan coating, electrical rating, and warranty. A generic name can make replacement parts and support documents harder to identify, so keep the ASIN and manufacturer information in your records.
- Seventeen stated programs offer broad selection.
- The 2 lb capacity fits common household portions.
- Automatic operation reduces hands-on steps.
- No named manufacturer is provided in the inventory.
- Warranty, power, dimensions, and pan material require verification.
- ✔ You want 2 lb loaves.
- ✔ You value many automatic modes.
- ✔ You verify support information first.
- ✖ You need a clearly named support source.
- ✖ You need more than 2 lb capacity.
7. KBS Pro 710W 2.2LB Bread Maker
The KBS Pro is the premium-feature alternative in this group, with 710 W power, a ceramic pan, a nut dispenser, and a 15 hour timer. It is most useful when those specific functions outweigh the extra complexity.
Why I picked it
The KBS Pro offers the clearest feature package for bakers who want timed dispensing, delayed baking, and a nonstick ceramic pan. Its 2.2 lb capacity sits between the 2 lb compact models and the 3 to 3.3 lb large models.
Key specs
- Rated power: 710 W
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 2.2 lb
- Pan: Healthy ceramic, described as nonstick in the listing
- Timer: 15 hour delay
- Program count: 17-in-1
- Dispenser: Automatic nut dispenser
Real-world experience
The 15 hour timer is useful when you want bread ready near breakfast, and the dispenser helps with recipes that add nuts later in the cycle. Confirm that your counter has a grounded outlet and enough ventilation, because the listing does not provide dimensions.
- The 15 hour timer supports advance scheduling.
- The automatic nut dispenser is a practical recipe aid.
- 710 W power and a ceramic pan are clearly stated in the title.
- Its feature set can be excessive for basic bread making.
- Dimensions and warranty are not stated in the inventory.
- ✔ You want delayed baking.
- ✔ You use nuts in bread recipes.
- ✔ You need 2.2 lb capacity.
- ✖ You want a very simple interface.
- ✖ Your priority is a 3 lb or larger loaf.
8. Amazon Basics Programmable Bread Maker
The Amazon Basics model is a practical 2 lb option with 14 settings, an LCD display, and an ExpressBake cycle. It is a sensible middle ground for buyers who want clear controls without a large dispensing system.
Why I picked it
The LCD and 14 settings make this one of the easiest candidates to understand from the supplied information. ExpressBake may shorten the wait for smaller loaves, but the exact cycle time is not stated here.
Key specs
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 2 lb
- Settings: 14
- Display: LCD
- Crust choices: 3
- Quick cycle: ExpressBake
- Pan: Nonstick, according to the product title
Real-world experience
This model suits a weekday routine where you want visible settings and a nonstick pan rather than an automatic dispenser. Check the manual for the meaning of each setting, especially the gluten-free options and ExpressBake cycle.
- The LCD makes settings easier to identify.
- Fourteen settings cover bread and dough choices.
- A nonstick pan is listed for easier release and cleanup.
- The 2 lb ceiling is smaller than the West Bend and Neretva.
- Exact ExpressBake timing and warranty details are not supplied.
- ✔ You want clear LCD controls.
- ✔ 2 lb loaves meet your needs.
- ✔ You want a quick-cycle option.
- ✖ You need a 3 lb loaf.
- ✖ You need a documented nut dispenser.
9. Zojirushi Home Bakery Supreme Breadmaker
The Home Bakery Supreme is a recognizable Zojirushi alternative for buyers who prefer an established appliance brand. The supplied inventory gives the model name but no capacity, program count, dimensions, power, or warranty, so it is a comparison candidate rather than a fully specified recommendation.
Why I picked it
The brand name and model identity make this easier to research than an unnamed appliance. Its inclusion does not mean it wins every comparison, because the available inventory lacks the specifications needed to rank it confidently against the West Bend or KBS Pro.
Key specs
- Manufacturer: Zojirushi
- Product name: Home Bakery Supreme Breadmaker
- Model identifier: Not supplied in the inventory
- Capacity: Not supplied
- Power, dimensions, pan material, and warranty: Not supplied
Real-world experience
Choose this model only after locating the current manual and confirming capacity, cycle length, and cleaning parts. That check matters because the product title alone cannot tell you whether it meets a 2 lb, 3 lb, or delay-baking requirement.
- Zojirushi is a recognizable manufacturer with support resources.
- The model name provides a clear search starting point.
- It may appeal to buyers who prefer an established brand.
- Capacity and program count are not supplied.
- You must confirm dimensions, power, pan material, and warranty before buying.
- ✔ You recognize the Zojirushi brand.
- ✔ You can verify the exact model.
- ✔ You prefer researching manuals first.
- ✖ You need capacity and power in the listing.
- ✖ You need a clearly specified feature set.
10. Elite Gourmet 2 Lb Programmable Bread
The Elite Gourmet is a compact 2 lb option with 19 presets and three loaf sizes. It belongs on the list for buyers who want a broad program count in a small appliance, but the supplied title does not provide enough detail to rank it above the West Bend or Amazon Basics.
Why I picked it
The Elite Gourmet offers 19 presets, which is useful for a cook who wants several bread and dough choices without moving to a 3 lb machine. Its 2 lb capacity and three loaf sizes make it more relevant to couples and small families than to large households.
Key specs
- Maximum stated loaf capacity: 2 lb
- Preset count: 19
- Loaf sizes: 3
- Finish: Black
- Format: Programmable countertop bread maker
Real-world experience
The three-size format can help you scale a recipe when you do not want to bake a full 2 lb loaf. Because the inventory gives no dimensions, wattage, pan coating, or warranty, measure your counter and check the current manual before ordering.
- Nineteen presets provide a broad selection for a 2 lb machine.
- Three loaf sizes help you adjust batch size.
- The black finish suits kitchens that prefer a neutral appliance.
- The 2 lb limit cannot serve households that need larger loaves.
- Dimensions, power, pan material, and warranty are absent from the inventory.
- ✔ You want 2 lb loaves.
- ✔ You value 19 presets.
- ✔ You prefer a black appliance finish.
- ✖ You need a 3 lb or larger loaf.
- ✖ You require a named manufacturer and documented warranty.
How I picked
I evaluated each machine against the information supplied for this roundup, with priority given to horizontal format, stated loaf capacity, program coverage, pan material, controls, scheduling, accessories, cleaning implications, and documentation. I treated every numerical specification as model specific and did not assume that a large program count automatically meant better bread.
I also compared buyer fit. Capacity was the first filter because a 2 lb machine and a 3.3 lb machine solve different problems. Next, I looked for useful functions such as a gluten free setting, a nonstick pan, a delay timer, a quick cycle, or an automatic nut dispenser.
Where a feature was absent from the supplied title, I treated it as unconfirmed rather than filling the gap with an assumption.
I did not physically test these appliances, measure crumb structure, record cycle temperatures, or run a 60 day durability test. I also did not verify long term nonstick coating performance, noise levels, or the life of the kneading paddle. The value meters are editorial comparison scores based on disclosed specifications and fit, not laboratory results or personal ownership claims.
As of 2026, the most important final check is the current manufacturer or retailer listing. Confirm dimensions, electrical requirements, included accessories, warranty coverage, replacement parts, and the manual before buying. A clear model number and documented support source can matter more than a large number printed on the box.
Buying guide, what actually matters for Best Horizontal Bread Makers
What size horizontal bread maker do you need?
Choose a 2 lb model for couples or smaller households, a 2.2 lb model for a little more flexibility, and a 3 to 3.3 lb model when you regularly bake larger loaves. A horizontal bread maker uses a loaf pan arranged across the appliance, so pan width and loaf shape can affect counter space and slice dimensions. Measure the machine, not just the pan, and leave the clearance required by its manual.
Which loaf capacity matters for a family?
Capacity is the clearest dividing line in this list. The West Bend states 3 lb, the Neretva states 3.3 lb, the KBS Pro states 2.2 lb, and several alternatives top out at 2 lb. A larger stated maximum does not mean you must bake that amount every time, but it gives you more room to scale a recipe.
Check the loaf size setting and ingredient limits before increasing a recipe.
How many programs are enough?
There is no useful magic number, because program quality matters more than program count. The West Bend and Cuisinart list 12 programs, Amazon Basics lists 14 settings, the KBS Pro and generic 17-in-1 model list 17, the Elite Gourmet lists 19, and the KITCHENARM claims 29. Look for named cycles that match your recipes, clear crust choices, dough modes, and a gluten free option if you need one.
Which features affect cleaning and maintenance?
A nonstick pan can reduce cleanup, but the removable pan, kneading paddle, measuring cup, and lid seal still need regular care. The KBS Pro lists a ceramic pan, while the Cuisinart, Amazon Basics, and Elite Gourmet identify stainless steel or nonstick features in their titles. Follow the manual for washing and avoid assuming that every part is dishwasher safe.
For flour and dough handling, use sound food safety practices from FDA’s food guidance.
Is installation easy, and what should you check before buying?
Installation is usually more about placement and setup than construction. Remove packaging, wash the pan according to the manual, position the machine on a level counter, and keep the lid and steam vents unobstructed. Before ordering, check the listed dimensions, counter depth, outlet location, and whether the appliance needs clearance above it.
A delayed timer is convenient, but it does not excuse a cramped or poorly ventilated location.
What warranty and certification details should you look for?
Look for a named manufacturer, a written warranty period, replacement part availability, and a support contact. The supplied inventory does not provide warranty periods or certification marks for most models, so those details remain purchase checks rather than confirmed benefits. A gluten free setting is a program, not a medical or dietary certification.
Confirm ingredients, cleaning, and cross contact guidance separately when someone has celiac disease.
What mistakes should you avoid?
Do not buy by program count, exterior color, or an unverified feature label alone. Check the capacity, pan type, dimensions, power, included accessories, warranty, and return terms before placing an order. Also avoid scaling a recipe beyond the machine’s stated loaf size, because extra dough can affect mixing and baking.
Finally, read the cycle instructions instead of assuming a bread, dough, jam, or gluten free setting behaves like every other appliance.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Are horizontal bread makers better than vertical bread makers?
Not automatically. A horizontal machine can make a familiar rectangular loaf easier to remove and slice, while its wider body may use more counter space. Choose the shape that fits your recipes and kitchen, not the one with the longer feature list.
Which model is best for 3 lb loaves?
The West Bend Hi-Rise is the clearest documented choice because its title states a 3 lb capacity, three loaf sizes, and 12 programs. The Neretva states a larger 3.3 lb maximum and adds a nut dispenser. Confirm the pan and recipe limits before choosing either for a large household.
Is a gluten free bread maker setting safe for celiac disease?
No setting alone can guarantee that. The program changes the baking cycle, while the flour, yeast, toppings, utensils, and cross contact controls determine whether the finished loaf suits a person with celiac disease. Use certified ingredients and follow medical or dietary guidance for your household.
How do I clean a bread maker?
Let the appliance cool before touching the pan or paddle, then follow the manual for removing and washing each part. Pay attention to the kneading blade, lid seal, viewing window, and crumbs around the heating area. Do not immerse the base unless the manufacturer specifically permits it.
What warranty should I expect?
The supplied product information does not state warranty periods for most of these machines. Check the current manufacturer page, Amazon listing, and manual for coverage, exclusions, and replacement parts. Keep the receipt and model number, especially if you expect to buy a replacement pan or paddle.
Is a 17-in-1 or 29-in-1 bread maker better?
Not necessarily. A 17-in-1 or 29-in-1 label can include useful cycles, but it does not explain cycle quality, loaf capacity, cleaning, or warranty. Compare the named programs, pan, controls, dimensions, and support documentation instead of relying on the number alone.
Final verdict
The West Bend Hi-Rise Bread Maker Machine is the best overall pick because its stated 3 lb capacity, 12 programs, three loaf sizes, and horizontal pan cover the needs of most households. The Cuisinart is a straightforward 2 lb alternative, while the KBS Pro stands out when a 15 hour timer, ceramic pan, and automatic nut dispenser justify extra complexity.
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through one of these links, I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes my recommendation, I only suggest gear I’d actually buy myself.


Table of Contents









